More on Work-Life-Balance in Surgery

Juggling a successful career in surgery and your life outside of work can be challenging. However, it is not impossible. Here is what those working in surgery have to say about their work-life-balance:

“My children strike my work-life-balance for me. So the best thing I could have done for a work-life-balance is have a family, so that I know that I have to go home. And as soon as I open that front door, unless there is a major catastrophe at work, it all just completely melts away. And suddenly it’s geography homework or parents evening or I haven’t got anything to wear for Phoebe’s party on Friday and neurosurgery becomes a distant memory until the next day starts.”

“What do I enjoy doing? Cooking and having people over for dinner. Being a hostess as well as going out for dinner. And sort of de-stressing by that. I go to the gym, I get whipped into shape by my twin sister and try to go swimming and that sort of thing. I do enjoy spending time with the children and getting dragged to lighthouses and Roman forts by my husband. So I definitely do enjoy the time with the children and the family because it sort of keeps you sane. Work is one thing, but you have to sort of counterbalance that.”

“I’m catholic so I’m quite involved with my church and I am part of a couple of groups and we meet monthly, so that is a big part of my life. And I really like singing, particularly in groups, so I’m well known for dragging unwilling people to piano bars in whatever city we’re in for our research.”

 

If you want some more advice on this issue, check out our previous post on the topic.

Leave a Reply

